City Council

Functions & Responsibilities

The City Council is comprised of 5 members elected at large by the citizens of Poway to serve for 4-year overlapping terms. The Mayor is directly elected by the citizens of Poway for a 4-year term. Annually, the City Council reorganizes, selecting a Councilmember to serve as Deputy Mayor.

The City Council is accountable to the residents of Poway for all services and programs provided by the city. The City Council serves as the city's policy-making body, taking action on all legislative matters involving the approval and adoption of all City ordinances, resolutions, contracts, and matters requiring policy decision and leadership. In reaching policy decisions, the Council listens to public testimony and reviews proposals designed to meet community needs while maintaining desired service levels.


The City Council appoints the City Manager and City Attorney and establishes various citizen advisory committees to ensure broad-based input into city affairs. The City Council oversees the expenditure of all city funds throughout the fiscal year, initiates new programs to upgrade existing services, and determines the ability of the city to provide financing for the proposed budget as submitted by the City Manager.

Current City Council

Term Ends
Steve Vaus
November 2018
Barry Leonard
Deputy Mayor
November 2020
Jim Cunningham Councilmember November 2020
Dave Grosch
November 2018
John Mullin
November 2018

Please note that your email is not a personal communication. It is an official public record and may be copied for City Council, staff and made available to the press and public.